NH Agriculture Picks a New Crop of Award Winners

An awards ceremony celebrating the Best In New Hampshire Agriculture was held Friday at the 35th Annual New Hampshire Farm & Forest Expo in Manchester.

Dubbed “New Hampshire’s Greatest Winter Fair,” the Expo has become a much awaited annual event. Sen. Maggie Hassan was in attendance and made brief remarks at the ceremony. Sen. Jeanne Shaheen and Rep. Annie Kuster spent time at the Expo speaking with exhibitors and attendees, and Gov. Chris Sununu will visit the Expo on Saturday.

The Master of Ceremonies for the awards ceremony was Peter St. James, host of "Good Morning NH" on 107.7 The Pulse and 107.3 WEMJ.

Four operations received the NH Farms of Distinction award.

They were:

  • Winsome Farm Organics, Piermont – Glen and Meredith Putnam
  • Valley View Bison LLC, Langdon – Alvin and David Clark and Linda Volpe
  • Pork Hill Farm, Ossipee – Paul Swegel and Katie Doyle Smith
  • Holland Farm, Milford – Marcy O’Connell

NH Farms of Distinction is a program of the New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food that annually recognizes Granite State farms that go the extra mile to keep their busy farmsteads neat and attractive, thereby portraying a positive image for New Hampshire agriculture.

The New Hampshire Green Pastures Dairy Farmer of the Year award, presented annually to an outstanding dairy farmer, went to the Creed family at Highway View Farm in Boscawen.

The Andrew L. Felker Memorial Award for leadership in promoting the growth and prosperity of New Hampshire agriculture was presented to Tara Sad, a former state Representative from Walpole

The Fred E. Beane Memorial Award for fair, accurate and effective reporting of news and issues impacting farming and forestry in the state was awarded to Ray Brewer in recognition of his “Grow It Green” feature on WMUR.

The Stephen H. Taylor Agricultural Leadership Award, named for former New Hampshire Commissioner of Agriculture, Steve Taylor, the Farm & Forest Expo’s founding father, was presented to Alan Eaton of the UNH Cooperative Extension. The award recognizes outstanding work by an individual who works professionally in the field of agriculture.

Tree Farm of the Year Award is presented to a landowner who has shown exceptional forest management in the Tree Farm Program. This year’s recipient was Daniel Thorn of Star Lake Farm in Springfield.

The NH Farm & Forest Exposition is a nonprofit organization. The major sponsors are the University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension, the New Hampshire Division of Forests & Lands and the New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food. A volunteer board of directors representing agriculture and forestry interests statewide oversees the annual operation of the exposition.

The expo, which is held at the Manchester Downtown Hotel (formerly known as the Radisson) runs until 8 p.m. Friday and from 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Saturday.